Showing posts with label flying off the handle. Show all posts
Showing posts with label flying off the handle. Show all posts

Monday, September 14, 2009

Serena lost it on Saturday



I think her conduct was certainly unsportsmanlike and less that what I would expect from one of the Williams sisters. They know they have always had to be better than everyone else in the sport just to be accepted and respected. I remember when other players did not want to change in the same locker room with them and complained constantly about their outfits, on court grunts, and the beads in their hair.

At the end of the day, I can understand, if not condone, Serena's outburst because the judge was incorrect. Not only did Serena lose the point on the judge's bad call, she lost another point which cost her the match. She was fined $10,000 and of course is out of the running for the title and prize money. The outburst may affect some of her endorsements and there is talk of further sanctions. All of this is a bit much considering the notorious conduct of Bobby Knight and John McEnroe. McEnroe had outbursts like this virtually every time he played.